Prince & The Revolution - Purple Rain Remastered

  • $42.00 AUD
  • Save $10

Track listing

All songs written by Prince, except where noted.

Side one
No. Title Length
1. "Let's Go Crazy" 4:39
2. "Take Me with U" 3:54
3. "The Beautiful Ones" 5:13
4. "Computer Blue(Prince, John L. NelsonWendy & Lisa; uncredited: Dr. Fink) 3:59
5. "Darling Nikki" 4:14
Side two
No. Title Length
6. "When Doves Cry" 5:54
7. "I Would Die 4 U" 2:49
8. "Baby I'm a Star" 4:24
9. "Purple Rain" 8:41


Prince designed "Purple Rain" as the project that would make him a superstar, and surprisingly, that is exactly what happened. Simultaneously more focused and ambitious than any of his previous records, "Purple Rain" finds Prince consolidating his funk and R&B roots while moving boldly into pop,rock, and heavy metal with nine superbly crafted songs. Although Prince's songwriting is at a peak, the presence of the Revolution pulls the music into sharper focus, giving it a tougher, more aggressive edge. Even with all of his new, but uncompromising, forays into pop Prince hasn't abandoned funk. Taken together, all of the stylistic experiments add up to a stunning statement of purpose that remains one of the most exciting rock & roll albums ever created.