Marvin Gaye - What's Going On

  • $30.00 AUD
  • Save $1 AUD

Marvin Gaye was a controversial and at the same time enormously successful personality. In his early years, the son of a priest tried his hand at a variety of chart typical songs, in the tradition of the Motown label. But with time he found his way less and less in the triangle of tax investigations, demanding wives and music that meant nothing to him. The self-produced album What's Going On from 1971 changed everything.

With deep R&B songs and soul in his voice he created the best album of 1971 according to Rolling Stone. The songs are deep, uncommonly open for the USA of the 1970s, and even absolutely danceable. The title "What is happening here!", with the important exclamation instead of question mark, refers to the US from the perspective of a returning Vietnam veteran who wonders why he fought for a state full of police violence, drug abuse and rising divorce rates. The label Motown initially refused to release this album because it was not commercial enough.

Artist: Marvin Gaye

Label: Tamla

Format: LP

Units: 1

Country: US

Genre: Soul & Funk

Style: Soul

A1 What'S Going On

A2 What'S Happening Brother

A3 Flyin' High (In The Friendly Sky)

A4 Save The Children

A5 God Is Love

A6 Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology)

B1 Right On

B2 Wholy Holy

B3 Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler)

  • Is discontinued by manufacturer ‏ : ‎ No
  • Product dimensions ‏ : ‎ 31.7 x 32.69 x 1.5 cm; 235.87 Grams
  • Manufacturer ‏ : ‎ UNIVERSAL MOTOWN
  • Item Model Number ‏ : ‎ 28935722
  • Original Release Date ‏ : ‎ 2008
  • Label ‏ : ‎ UNIVERSAL MOTOWN
  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B00006OA8C
  • Country of origin ‏ : ‎ USA
  • Number of discs ‏ : ‎ 1
  • Customer Reviews:

    4.7 out of 5 stars 4,523 ratings